Past Event Recordings

Colorado’s new data privacy law affects all providers: What you need to know

In May, Gov. Hickenlooper signed into law a bill containing extensive requirements for public and private entities that maintain the personal information of Colorado’s residents. The new law covers what steps must be taken by all providers of senior living and aging services to protect data, what to do in the event of a breach and how to dispose of certain types of personal information. The law’s requirements take effect Sept. 1. Join LeadingAge Colorado and Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck attorneys Esteban Morin, Anna-Liisa Mullis, and Nancy Strelau for a one-hour webinar designed to put you on the path to compliance with the new law. At the end of this roundtable discussion, moderated by Sharon Caulfield, you will be able to (1) identify the obligations of senior care providers to protect personal information, even if the provider has not previously had to comply with HIPAA; (2) understand the coming terminology and requirements for data protection, and how data security varies under the new Colorado law and other legal requirements; (3) understand how your HR department should work with IT to cover employee data; (4) know how to respond in the event of a data breach; and (5) have your other questions answered. 

Cost: Members - $20; Non-members - $40

Buy now.

 

Initial Compliance with the New Colorado Assisted Living Regulations Webinar

Join LeadingAge Colorado and Sharon Caulfield and Ishra Solieman with Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP for a one hour webinar on Wednesday, June 20 for an overview of the new assisted living residence (ALR) licensure rules. The revisions to 6 CCR 1011-1, Ch. 7, Assisted Living Residence, are significant and include several changes for ALRs such as requirements for CPR, first aid and lift assistance, implementation of the Facility Guideline Institute (FGI) standards for new construction and renovations, additional staff training and revisions to the secure environment section. This webinar provides the opportunity to learn about the new rules and the modifications that will be required for compliance.

Webinar Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members.

Buy now.